A concert of nine world premieres–solo works and duets–written for members of the Cabrillo Festival Orchestra and introduced by three emerging composers from the Composers Workshop—Theo Chandler, Meng Wang, and Jeremy Rapaport-Stein. Each composer wrote the works in collaboration closely with their assigned Festival musicians and with guidance and support from composition faculty member Pierre Jalbert

The In the Works Concert is made possible with support from the Alice M. Ditson Fund at Columbia University.


Listed in alphabetical order by composer last name. Program order to be announced.


Fleeting Refrains (2021)
Ava Ordman, trombone

Line and Wash (2021)
Robyn Julyan, violin
Ben Tomkins, violin

Etching Plate (2021)
Andres Pichardo-Rosenthal, drum set


Eveningbird (2021)
Sarah Fuller, harp

UP DOG (2021)
Scott Stong, French horn
Natalie Fritz, French horn

Flutterbug (2021)
Galen Lemmon, vibraphone

MENG WANG (b. 1989)

Since Then (2021)
Ted Botsford, bass

…is Composed of Nows (2021)
Anne Chandra, violin
Bharat Chandra, clarinet

Rustling in the Wind (2021)
Tomasz Kowalczyk, snare drum

composer BIOS and program notes


Theo Chandler is a Houston-based composer, currently pursuing his D.M.A. at Rice University, studying with Pierre Jalbert. His work finds inspiration in the nuances of instrumental idiom, as well as the conversational relationships between members of an ensemble.


Chandler is the recipient of the Copland House Residency Award, SCI/ASCAP Graduate Commission, American Prize for Vocal Chamber Music, Lili Boulanger Memorial Fund Award, Charles Ives Scholarship from the Academy of Arts and Letters, and the Graduate Music Award from the Presser Foundation. He has received commissions from the New York Youth Symphony First Music Program, Tanglewood Music Center, Fischer Duo, Utah Arts Festival, and others. He has been a fellow at the Britten-Pears Young Artist Programme, Mizzou International Composers Festival, Tanglewood Music Center, Copland House Cultivate, and Aspen Music Festival. Previous residencies include an I-Park Composer+Musicians Collaborative Residency, Composer-in-Residence for Les Délices, Composer-in-Residence for the Maryland Wind Festival, Young Artist Composer for Da Camera, Emerging Composer Fellow for Musiqa, and Young Composer-in-Residence for the Detroit Chamber Winds and Strings.


Chandler received degrees at The Juilliard School (MM) and Oberlin Conservatory (BM). He has studied with Shih-Hui Chen, Karim Al-Zand, Anthony Brandt, Melinda Wagner, Samuel Adler, Steven Stucky, Lewis Nielson, and Dan Tacke.


Jeremy Rapaport-Stein is a composer based in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. His work explores anxiety, vocality, euphoria, and obsolete modes of audio communication through concert music and installations. Rapaport-Stein has received commissions from several organizations and individual performers, including the Orchestra of St. Luke’s, No Exit New Music, Odds and Ends Trio, Guerilla Opera, Orchestra 2001, Boston New Music Initiative, and CollisionSeries. He has held residencies at the Virginia Center for Creative Arts and Crosstown Arts in Memphis, Tennessee.

Rapaport-Stein holds a B.A. from Swarthmore College and is currently a doctoral fellow in music theory and composition at Brandeis University, where he has taught courses in musicianship, sound studies, music technology, and writing. In addition to his compositional practice, he has also worked extensively in arts administration and concert production.


Chinese-born composer Meng Wang has collaborated with many notable orchestras and ensembles, including Brussels Philharmonic, Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, Columbus Symphony, Jacksonville Symphony, China Youth Symphony, Shanghai Symphony Orchestra Percussion Ensemble; Aspen Contemporary Ensemble, Thin Edge New Music Collective, and Longleash Trio, among others.

Wang was a composer fellow at the Aspen Music Festival in 2016 and was selected to participate in 2019 Tactus Young Composers Forum with Brussels Philharmonic as well as American Composers Orchestra’s 2018 EarShot readings. Recent commissions include a percussion ensemble for Shanghai Symphony in Chamber Concert series and a piano concerto for University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music (CCM) Concert Orchestra.

Wang is currently pursuing her D.M.A. in composition at the University of Cincinnati under the guidance of Dr. Douglas Knehans. She is an alumnus of Central Conservatory in Beijing and Manhattan School of Music. Her primary instructors include composers Wenchen Qin and Reiko Füting. She also received instruction from composer Andreia Pinto Correia.