2021 Conductors/Composers Workshop Finalists

Press contact here

Cabrillo Festival Announces Fellows

Cabrillo Festival of Contemporary Music Announces Finalists and adapts its Conductors/Composers Workshop for the 2021 Virtual Season

SANTA CRUZ, CA—April 22, 2021—The Cabrillo Festival of Contemporary Music’s Conductors/Composers Workshop—an internationally recognized professional training program that focuses on the creation and performance of new music—draws a diverse group of early-career conductors and composers from around the globe to train with some of the world’s most respected contemporary music professionals. In reimagining the Conductors/Composers Workshop for the 2021 season, the Festival has created a robust four-day online enrichment program that includes conductors Cristian Măcelaru, Marin Alsop, Yannick Nezet-Seguin, Larry Rachleff, Gemma New, Octavio Mas-Arocas, artists manager Charlotte Lee of Primo Artists, composition faculty Pierre Jalbert, composers Gabriela Lena Frank, Jake Heggie, and Sean Shepherd, and Cabrillo Festival’s Music Librarian Michael Ferraguto and Executive Director Ellen Primack. The 2021 program is offered tuition-free for finalists.

Ten Fellows and ten Associates, along with three young (under age 30) composers, have been selected to have participating access to all Zoom sessions. 85 additional applicants will be granted access to observe all sessions as Auditors. The Festival seized this unique opportunity in a virtual season context to engage an extraordinary number of preeminent practitioners in the field and remove financial barriers for participants; thereby reaffirming its commitment to mentoring the next generation of new music creators and practitioners. The Festival is pleased to announce the following list of national and international Conducting Fellows and Associates, as well as the 2021 Composers:

2021 Conductors Workshop Fellows:
Yeo Ryeong Ahn, Seoul Korea
Pablo Devigo Vazquez, Cleveland OH
Thomas Fortner, Sioux Falls SD
Maria Kurochkina, Russia
Fernanda Lastra, Iowa City IA
Hae Lee, South Korea
Samuel Seungwon Lee, Germany
Rebecca Smithorn, Cincinnati OH
Madeline Tsai, Vienna Austria
Nathaniel Efthimiou, Boston MA

2021 Conductors Workshop Associates:
Ryan Tani, Los Angeles CA
Yoona Jeong, Austin TX
Tristan Rais-Sherman, Fairfield CT
Tamara Dworetz, Bloomington IN
Hannah Eisendle, Vienna Austria
Cibelle Jemima Almeida Donza, Ithaca NY
Kens Lui, Germany
Jaelem Bhate, Richmond CA
Christian Olson, Carrollton TX
Sejoon Park, Houston TX

2021 Composers:
Theophilus Chandler, Hillsborough NC
Meng Wang, New York NY
Jeremy Rapaport-Stein, Somerville MA

A beloved element of the in-person Festival experience is the opportunity for audiences to observe the Conductors Workshop’s professional coaching sessions, illuminating the importance of a skilled and intuitive leader on the podium, and the powerful nuances of each gesture and expression. For the virtual season, subscribers will be given auditor access to four video review sessions. In an additional adaptation of the Conductor/Composers Workshop, the annual “In the Works” performance will be featured as part of the Festival’s 2021 virtual season. “In the Works” will feature six solo works and three duets by 2021 Composers Workshop finalists Theo Chandler, Meng Wang, and Jeremy Rapaport-Stein, written with and for members of the Festival Orchestra, under the tutelage of composer Pierre Jalbert. “In the Works” will premiere on Sunday, August 1, and as with most of the 2021 programs, will be followed by a live online artist Q&A, then made available for free on-demand streaming via the Festival’s website.

Cabrillo Festival’s 2021 season will be held virtually, with all events available for free on-demand streaming at CabrilloMusic.org starting July 31. Subscriptions are encouraged to support the Festival. Join the Festival’s mailing list here: https://cabrillomusic.org


How can we help you?

More results...

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors