Evolving I


London-born Anna Clyne (b. 1980) is a Grammy-nominated composer of acoustic and electro-acoustic music. Described as a “composer of uncommon gifts and unusual methods” in a New York Times profile and as “dazzlingly inventive” by Time Out New York, Clyne’s work often includes collaborations with cutting-edge choreographers, visual artists, filmmakers, and musicians.

This season features multiple premieres of new works by Clyne, including Sound and Fury and Overflow with the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, where Clyne serves as Associate Composer. Spring 2020 sees the world premiere of Clyne’s COLOR FIELD, an orchestral work inspired by Mark Rothko’s paintings, with Marin Alsop and the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra; and Breathing Statues with the Calidore String Quartet.

Other recent premieres include Clyne’s Rumi-inspired cello concerto, DANCE, premiered by Inbal Segev at the 2019 Cabrillo Festival, conducted by Cristian Macelaru; Three Sisters, her mandolin concerto for Avi Avital and the Kremerata Baltica; Restless Oceans with the Taki Concordia Orchestra and Marin Alsop at the World Economic Forum; and Beltane with the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra and Thomas Dausgaard. In July 2019, Clyne wrote and arranged music from Nico’s Marble Index for The Nico Project, a theatrical work presented by the Manchester International Festival. Clyne has been commissioned by such renowned organizations as Carnegie Hall, Houston Ballet, Los Angeles Philharmonic, and the Southbank Centre.

From 2010–2015, Clyne served as a Mead Composer-in-Residence for the Chicago Symphony Orchestra. Music Director Riccardo Muti lauded Clyne as “an artist who writes from the heart, who defies categorization, and who reaches across all barriers and boundaries. Her compositions are meant to be played by great musicians and listened to by enthusiastic audiences no matter what their background.” She has also been in residence with the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, L’Orchestre national d’Île-de-France, Cabrillo Festival of Contemporary Music, and Berkeley Symphony. Clyne serves as the mentor composer for the Orchestra of St Luke’s DeGaetano Composer Institute. Clyne is currently serving as Associate Composer with the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, a three-year residency lasting through the 2020-2021 season. The residency includes plans for a series of new works commissioned over three years.

February 2020 – Reprinted by kind permission of Boosey & Hawkes. 

How can we help you?

More results...

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors