Cabrillo Festival Orchestra

Winner of the League of American Orchestra and ASCAP’s 2008-2009 John S. Edwards Award for Strongest Commitment to New American Music, and winner of their Award for Adventurous Programming of Contemporary Music for 32 consecutive years (1982-2013).

Cabrillo has emerged as the western states’ leading orchestra devoted to modern symphonic repertory in the twenty-first century. The Festival’s core performance group is an ensemble of sixty-eight professional musicians who join Maestra Alsop each year in award-winning programming of contemporary music. These musicians come to Santa Cruz from all over the world, often foregoing more lucrative engagements in order to volunteer their professional services in favor of the stimulation and challenge of the Cabrillo programs. Each is a new music advocate in their own right. For over 50 years, they have earned Cabrillo an uncompromised and prestigious reputation as America’s preeminent contemporary music festival. We invite you to join us in thanking each member of the orchestra for their generosity and dedication, and for the greatness of their spirit.

Below is a listing of all Tenured/Provisional Orchestra players. *Substitute or Extra players are indicated as such.
Click player names in red to learn a bit more about them!


Violin I

Justin Bruns, Concertmaster, Atlanta GA
Jooyeon Kong, Assistant Concertmaster, St. Louis MO
Elise Blake, Charlottesville, VA
Maximillian Haft, Cologne, Germany
Rebecca Jackson, Santa Cruz CA *LOA
Robyn Julyan, Denver CO
Rita Lee, San Francisco CA
Andrew McCann, Chicago IL
Matthew Means, Hays KS
Sarah Shellman, Tampa FL *LOA
Carol Swift, Albuquerque NM
Benjamin Tomkins, Denver CO

Violin II

Matt Albert, Principal, Dallas TX
Anne Chandra, Assistant Principal, Sarasota FL
Louise Alexander, Indianapolis IN
Rachel Bundy, Dallas TX
Susan French, Long Island City NY *LOA
Ellen McSweeney, Chicago IL
Virginia Respess, St. Petersburg FL
Rob Simonds, Indianapolis IN
Charmian Stewart, San Anselmo CA


Sam Bergman, Principal, Minneapolis MN
Jessica Oudin, Assistant Principal, Atlanta GA
Eleanor Angel, Los Gatos CA
Chad Kaltinger, Capitola CA
Mary Jane Miller, Grand Rapids MI
Madeline Sharp, Miami Beach FL


Rainer Eudeikis, Principal, Salt Lake City UT
Jennifer Humphreys, Assistant Principal, Dallas TX
Kathleen Balfe, Granada, Spain
David Gerstein, Little Rock AR
Virginia Kron, Ojai CA
Brad Ritchie, Atlanta GA


Edward Botsford, Principal, Portland OR
Thomas Derthick
, Sacramento CA
Todd Lockwood, Jacksonville FL
Joseph McFadden, Atlanta GA



Tim Munro, Principal, Chicago IL
Betsy Hudson Traba, Sarasota FL
Kristen Halay, Eugene OR *LOA
Lauren Sileo, Haymarket VA


Karen Wagner, Principal, Portland OR
Alexander Miller, Grand Rapids MI
Paula Engerer, Phoenix AZ


Bharat Chandra, Principal, Sarasota FL
Steve Ahearn, Dallas TX
John R. Schertle, Hong Kong *LOA
Michael Maccaferri, Chicago IL


Evan Kuhlmann, Principal, Portland OR
Adam Trussell, Portland OR
Steve Vacchi, Eugene OR


Lucas Hopkins, Ann Arbor MI *Extra
Thomas Snydacker, Evanston IL *Extra



Kristin Jurkscheit, Principal, Baltimore MD
Gavin Reed, Assistant Principal, Houston TX
Alex Camphouse, Vallejo CA *Extra
Fritz Foss, Chicago IL
Thomas Hundemer, Shreveport LA
Nicky Roosevelt, Berkeley CA


Craig Morris, Principal, Coral Gables FL
Ryan Darke, Cerritos CA *Extra
Lauren Eberhart, San Antonio TX
Andrew Gignac, San Antonio TX
Carrie Schafer, Houston TX


Ava Ordman, Principal, Lansing MI
David Murray, Washington DC
Robert K. Ward, Grand Rapids MI


Forrest Byram, Principal, San Francisco CA



Steve Hearn, Principal, Castle Rock CO *LOA
Scott Christian, Acting Principal, Charleston WV


Galen Lemmon, Principal, San Jose CA
Jim Kassis, Sunnyvale CA
Gregory Messa, Los Gatos CA *Extra
Ward Spangler, Oakland CA
Svet Stoyanov, Miami FL


Nuiko Wadden, Principal, Pittsburgh PA
Jennifer Cass, Capitola CA *Extra


Emily Wong, Principal, Yorktown Heights NY *LOA
Michael Sheppard, Acting Principal, Baltimore MD
Jodi Gandolfi, Menlo Park CA *Extra

Assistant Conductor

Alexandra Arrieche

Orchestra Manager

Erik Finley, Dallas TX


Ella M. Fredrickson, St. Petersburg FL



Orchestra photo at top by Bruce Frye